2022 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame opens for nominations

LITTLE ROCK, Ark., 2021-Oct-19 — Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism Sec. Stacy Hurst announced the opening of nominations for the 2022 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame, a program of Arkansas Heritage. Now in its sixth year, the program celebrates Arkansas’s unique culinary heritage.

“Food is a compelling piece of the story of Arkansas. Last year we had more than 2,000 nominations representing all 75 counties,” said Hurst. “This is a chance for people to let their voice be heard and to celebrate the food, places, events and people that make our state unique.”

Nominations are open at now to Oct. 31, 2021, with categories that recognize legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events that celebrate food heritage from every part of our state including: 

-Arkansas Food Hall of Fame, recognizes long-standing restaurants that have become legendary
-Proprietor of the Year, honors a chef, cook and/or restaurant owner with significant impact on the food industry
-Food-Themed Event, honors a community food-themed event or festival
-Gone But Not Forgotten, remembers past establishments
-People’s Choice, restaurants or food trucks, new or old, are eligible

“Whether you make the food or eat it, the flavors of Arkansas are unparalleled,” said Jimmy Bryant, director of Arkansas Heritage. “We encourage you to honor your favorites and nominate them this month.”

Winners will be chosen by a special committee of Arkansans who are historians, chefs, foodies and food authors. Committee members include Paul S. Austin, Chip Culpepper, Quantia “Key” Fletcher, Cindy Grisham, Montine McNulty, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Stephanie Wade, David Ware, Stanley Young, in addition to Hurst and Bryant. Honorees and finalists will be announced in a special ceremony in 2022.

For more information about this program, please contact Deputy Chief of Communications Mandy Shoptaw at or 501-324-9788.

About Arkansas Heritage

Arkansas Heritage was created in 1975. There are eight agencies with unique heritage focuses under the umbrella of this division: Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, Arkansas State Archives, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, Historic Arkansas Museum, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and the Old State House Museum. Arkansas Heritage is part of the Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. Jimmy Bryant serves as director of the division while Stacy Hurst is the secretary of the department.

Severe Weather: Donate to the Arkansas Disaster Relief Program